Skip to main content
OCLC Support

History

Use this screen to store transaction history and notification history in WorldShare.

Use this screen to store transaction history and notification history.

  • Transaction history and notification history are not dependent on one another; you can choose to store one, both, or none.

Transaction History

Use this setting to store transaction history for items and patrons.

  • The system retains circulation transactions (check ins, check outs, etc.) when transaction history is stored.
  • When stored, transaction history can be viewed:
    • In the Transaction History section of the Item Details screen (item transaction history)
    • In the History tab of a patron account (patron transaction history)

Transaction History fields:

  • Retain history for: If you select to store transaction history, you must set the length of time transaction history will be retained.
    • Enter 0 to turn off automatic purging and retain history indefinitely.
  • Store history: Select if you want to store transaction history.
    • If you select No (default), transaction history will not be stored.
    • If you select Yes, transaction history will be stored for the specified length of time.

Purging

 Note: Purging transaction history in Service Configuration only applies to what is visible to staff in WorldShare Circulation. To remove patron data from a circulation event in WorldShare Reports and Report Designer, see Disassociate patron data from circulation events.

  • On the item statistics screen, the patron associated with the status of the item and the last patron the item was issued to will always be shown, regardless of the transaction history setting.
  • Only transactions that take place after transaction history has been set to Store will be retained.
  • Once transaction history is purged, it cannot be recovered.
  • Changing transaction history from Store to Do Not Store will not retain previously stored history. All transactions will be purged.

Notification History

Use this setting to store notification history.

  • The system retains the notifications sent to patrons when notification history is stored.
  • When stored, notification history can be viewed in History tab of the patron record

Notification History fields

  • Retain history for: If you select to store notification history, you must set the length of time transaction history will be retained.
    • The maximum time notification history can be stored is 18 months.
  • Store history: Select if you want to store notification history.
    • If you select No (default), notification history will not be stored.
    • If you select Yes, notification history will be stored for the specified length of time.

Patron Borrowing History

Use this feature to allow library users to see a list of materials that they have previously had on loan or used in the library via the in-house use workflow in My Account. 

  • Store history: Select if you want to store patron borrowing history.
    • If you select No (default), borrowing history will not be stored.
    • If you select Yes, library users will see the Borrowing history tab and the option to enable borrowing history on the Profile tab in My Account.
  • Retain history for: If you select to store history, you must set the length of time transaction history will be retained.
    • Set a retention period between 1 and 60 months.

 Caution:  All of your users' borrowing history data and opt-in preferences will be deleted if your library disables the feature. A warning message will appear if you attempt to save a change to the History configuration that would disable Patron Borrowing History.

Once your library has activated the feature and sets a retention period, library users will see the Borrowing history tab and the option to enable borrowing history on the Profile tab in My Account. See Borrowing history for more information.